Skip to Main Content

OER Tools for Librarians: Media

Openly Licensed and Public Domain Media

Free Music Archive offers searches by genre, artist, and more.

Find music that is liberally licensed at dig.ccMixter. It’s free to use with attribution — and here’s how to Attribute.

the Internet Archive has a great collection of audio. Search for animal sounds, old time radio shows, sound effects and music. 

LibriVox offers free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. Search by author, title or narrator; browse by genre,author, title, or language. 

Videvo offers some free sound effects music tracks, along with some free video and more files accessible via paid subscription plan.  NOT YET VETTED.

CC Search allows easy discovery of openly licensed and public domain domain images by searching across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution. Please independently verify the licensing status and attribution information before reusing the content.  CC Search still offers its "old search tool," which isn't a search engine, but provides easy access to many of the search platforms that include CC-licensed materials. I

In the discipline of biology, the The Encyclopedia of Life, an online collaborative encyclopedia offers content provided by a wide variety of contributors that is reviewed for accuracy. Most articles have accompanying full-color images and all content is licensed under Creative Commons (CC).

The Noun Project is a platform that aims to provide community created/curated icons and symbols that everyone can understand. Symbols and icons on The Noun Project are licensed using Creative Commons. However, sometimes the only way to modify the image is to pay (e.g. $3)

The Icons Database provides truly free icons. 

IconMonster also provides free icons with no need for attribution. Review license agreement to be sure that still holds true.

Library of Congress Citizen DJ in test mode until Summer 2020,  Created by Brian Foo, allows users to explore the Library's recordings to create and download original beats and sounds

PHET Interactive Simulations, developed and maintained by the University of Colorado, Boulder, provide interactive simulations in the STEM subjects, including biology, chemistry, earth science, and math.

 

Incredibly detailed OER referatory by the Arthur Lakes LIbrary of the Colorado School of Mines: Lab Simulations: https://libguides.mines.edu/oer/simulationslabs

To find CC-licensed content on Youtube, start at the Youtube Homepagetype in your search term followed by a comma and then add the term, “creativecommons” --the videos returned will all be CC licensed. 

Vimeo has a search tool that limits results to open content available under a Creative Commons license.

The Khan Academy has a large library of videos providing lessons in math, biology, chemistry, physics, finance, history, and the humanities. Khan videos are typically 10-minute long tutorials with an instructor narrating explanations. Technically, Khan Academy is no longer an OER repository. The videos are no longer openly licensed as they removed CC BY NC SA license notice. All Khan Academy videos are still free for anyone to watch, but adaptation is not allowed. It is recommend that faculty using Khan Academy videos embed a link to the video into their teaching material, but do not download, modify the content, or repurpose it.

TED.com, freely shares talks and performances from TED and partners. All of the talks are subtitled in English, and many are subtitled in various languages. Most videos are released under a Creative Commons BY-NC-ND license, so they can be shared and reposted, but not modified.  TEDTalk licenses and usage rights are described in detail.

Most of the following resources were compiled by librarians at the Northern Virginia Community College Libraries:  See their excellent LibGuide: http://libguides.nvcc.edu/streamingvideo/open

Search Open & Free Videos:

Openly Licensed and Public Domain Works

CC Search allows easy discovery of openly licensed and public domain domain images by searching across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution. Please independently verify the licensing status and attribution information before reusing the content.  CC Search still offers its "old search tool," which isn't a search engine, but provides easy access to many of the search platforms that include CC-licensed materials. I

In the discipline of biology, the The Encyclopedia of Life, an online collaborative encyclopedia offers content provided by a wide variety of contributors that is reviewed for accuracy. Most articles have accompanying full-color images and all content is licensed under Creative Commons (CC).

Openly Licensed and Public Domain Media