It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 101, Kaufman: Home
Narrow by asking myself 5 simple questions...
4 minute how-to video by the Ohio State University Libraries explains 5 simple questions that will help you to narrow down your topic quickly: Who? What? When? Where? Why?
5 Ws Narrow My Topic Worksheet
Optional worksheets will help you narrow down your topic using the 5Ws described in the video on this page.
Read academic books online, 24/7. Search within books, View tables of contents and indexes, and read only those chapters, pages or segments that pertain to your research. Downloads frequently available. Suggested citations included. From off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Banner ID and password.
Read academic ebooks accessible online 24/7. Search within books, and read just those chapters or segments that pertain to your research. View tables of contents and indexes. Downloads frequently available. Sign in to add notes, highlights and bookmarks and save to the Ebook Central bookshelf.
If accessing QVCC online resources from off-campus, you will first be prompted to log in using your Net-ID and password--this is not the same as creating or logging into a personal Ebook Central account!
Academic books accessible online 24/7. Search within the book and read only segments relevant to your research. View tables of contents and indexes. Read online, download, or print sections. In PDF mode, add notations. To save your notes and bookmarks, create a free Ebsco eBook sign-in account.
If accessing QV Library online resources from off-campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your 8-digit Net-ID and password--this is not the same as creating or logging into your personal Ebsco account!
Pro- and Con- viewpoint articles on many "hot topics." Also includes overview or background articles and news. Sometimes includes primary sources, newspaper editorials and videos. Keyword search or browse popular topics by category or alphabetical listing.
Prominent U.S. newspapers. Search within one publication or all.
Search all 7 newspapers listed below as well as many other major daily newspapers by choosing the " ProQuest Newspapers" link, or focus your search by choosing just one newspaper from the list.
Los Angeles Time
New York Times
Historical Hartford Courant ( 1764- 1922)
Wall Street Journal
These are QVCC Library online resources. If you are accessing from off-campus, you will be prompted to log-in with your Banner ID and password.
Within each database, narrow down to "academic," "peer-reviewed," magazines" or other formats to narrow down your results. Explore other options to narrow down the hit list, such as publication date or subject.
Every article comes with a suggested MLA citation.
Academic Search PremierA rich, multi-disciplinary collection of articles from over 4,600 scholarly journals presenting research and analysis. Also includes popular magazines and other publications.
Peer-reviewed journals and magazines. Millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, videos from BBC Worldwide Learning, and magazine articles. From Gale/Cengage.
Within each QVCC Library database, narrow down to "academic" or "peer-reviewed" to limit your results to scholarly articles. If accessing from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Banner ID and password.