All Library Guides: HSE 141 Addiction & Mental Ilness in Behavioral Health Care: Articles & Databases

Recommended Research Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Pro- and Con- viewpoint articles on many "hot topics." Also includes overview or background articles and news. Sometimes includes primary sources, newspaper editorials and videos. Keyword search or browse popular topics by category or alphabetical listing.
- Who It Is Great For: Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window

Suggested Database: Psychology

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window

Suggested :Newspaper Databases

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Newspapers
Search all 7 newspapers listed below as well as many other major daily newspapers by choosing the “ProQuest Newspapers” link,or focus your search by choosing just one newspaper from this list.

Chicago Tribune
Hartford Courant
Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922)
Los Angeles Times
New York Times
Washington Post
Wall Street Journal

Suggested: Health & Medicine

Health Source Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. It includes abstracts and full-text articles for hundreds of nursing and health journals.
- Who It Is Great For: Allied Health (Administrative Medical Office Skills, HIMT: Certified Coding Specialist, Health Career Pathways, Medical Assisting, Medical Laboratory Technician, Phlebotomy), Anatomy, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Physiology, Psychology Studies

Biography Database

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Background information on people who have shaped the world. Users can explore articles, videos, photos, etc. on each of the more than 5,000 subjects through easy-to-use individualized pages. The database is regularly updated to provide the most up-to-date information.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- What it is: More than 700,000 full-text biographical articles, 35,000 images and additional summaries from both academic journals and popular magazines. Search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- What it is: More than 400,000 biographical articles. Search by keyword or locate biographies by subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan, birthplace, birthday, and more.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies