ENG 101: Composition • Project 3: Annotated Bibliography • Dr. Kaufman • Fall 2020
Project: Compose an annotated bibliography that provides annotations (summaries) detailing the sources used for your Project 4: Research Paper (see that specific course handout for directions for the research essay on technology).
Annotate at least seven (7) sources of information used for your research paper and compose a bibliography that includes the annotations and MLA-formatted citations.
At a minimum, please provide citations and annotations for these seven sources:
1 & 2): Two Sources )from the Research Project Resources Folder: Use two sources of information provided by the instructor located in this specific folder in the Course Content area.
3): One Database Full-text Article: These are essays or articles found on a library database (peer-review preferred). The article must come from a database and not from a web search.
4): One e-Book or e-Reference book or Reference book or Book: Information found in a book chapter or an entry in a digital reference or e-book. This could be an electronic encyclopedia used for background information. A printed book or reference book can be used in place of a digitally-published book.
5): One Media Source: One media resource such as a film on DVD, a television program about technology (news program preferred), a TEDTalk, a documentary, or a film-on demand, viewed and analyzed for this project.
6): One valid and authored online Internet source: A .gov or .edu site is preferred; .com can be used if it's for a magazine or newspaper site; .org can be used if the site is a non- profit organization.
Each annotation/summary should be at least 5 sentences long but not more than 10 sentences. Annotations are like summaries. Summary writing will be discussed in class.
Above each summary, provide an MLA 8 citation for the article or source material, as it would appear in your Works Cited page (see formatting guidelines at the Purdue OWL website for MLA formatting styles).
If you include a direct quote in your annotation, include the page number if there is one noted (in parenthesis) within the summary.
Paper Preparation & Grading: Please follow MLA 8 guidelines for all formatting and citation parameters. This project will be assessed by rubric (posted on Blackboard).
• Check with your instructor to make sure your topic works for this assignment • Follow the directions
• Review the model/sample annotated bib posted on Blackboard
• Use a thesaurus/dictionary to enhance the language in your project
• Run spell check and grammar check often when composing your paper
• Meet with an online Learning Center tutor to discuss your project and to review your papers • Start on this project ASAP
Due: Dates will be announced in class and then posted on Blackboard.