All Library Guides: Template for LIBRARIAN USE only: Articles & Databases

The Opposing Point of View

A strong, well-written research paper will acknowledge and consider the opposing viewpoint, and then go on to refute that position. So, for example, if you are arguing in favor of something, you want to find an article that argues against that same thing. Discuss this opposing viewpoint in your paper, and then present evidence for why that viewpoint should not win the argument.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Pro- and Con- viewpoint articles on many "hot topics." Also includes overview or background articles and news. Sometimes includes primary sources, newspaper editorials and videos. Keyword search or browse popular topics by category or alphabetical listing.
- Who It Is Great For: Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Balanced content with diverse viewpoints from thousands of international sources that cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on nearly 400 social, scientific, health, historic, economic, and political issues. Save found resources to OneDrive using Office365 credentials.
- Who It Is Great For: Allied Health (Medical Assisting, Medical Laboratory Technician), Business (Accounting, Business Administration, Business Studies), Communications (Communication Studies), History (History Studies), Science (Biomolecular Science, Biology Studies, Chemistry Studies, Environmental Science, Physics Studies), Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Social Science (Economic Studies, Geography Studies, Political Science Studies, Psychology Studies, Sociology Studies), Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies

Pro/Con
This is NOT a library resource. This is a link to a public website. Provides the pros and cons of controversial issues.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Academic and Scholarly Articles

These library resources include many types of articles: scholarly and academic--including some that are peer-reviewed--and popular (such as newspapers and magazines).

Choose the " limit to peer review" or " limit to academic journals" to excluded popular magazines and newspapers from the results.

Be sure to also choose "limit to full to full-text" so you only get results that will let you access the full article.

All articles come with suggested MLA citations!

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- What it is: A rich, multi-disciplinary database which includes thousands of full-text peer-reviewed journals, select open-access journals, and ahead-of-print content.
- Who It Is Great For: All Students
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Collection of full-text magazines, e-books and primary source documents. Includes a large image collection.
- Who It Is Great For: All Students
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Big database that allows users to search multiple GaleCengage databases at once.
- Who It Is Great For: All Students

Newspaper Articles

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes major U.S. daily newspapers and smaller newspapers. Search within all publications or narrow down to a specific news source.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- What it is: EBSCO’s full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. Includes millions of articles from newspapers and news magazines, television and radio transcripts, and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Communication Studies, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies