Skip to Main Content

Latin American Country Presentation AND Day of the Dead & Tradition: Your Country : Facts & Background

Resources for (1) El Día de los Muertos Altar display, (2) Mid-Semester Outline & Sources, and (3) Final Presentation

Required

Required:  Use at least ONE of these sources! Either Credo or Gale Virtual Reference  (GVRL) online library resources or the CIA World Factbook. 

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Gale Virtual Reference and Credo Reference are QVC library databases. 

When accessing a database from an off- campus location you will be prompted to enter your NET ID . This is your 8-digit Banner ID combined with the @symbol and the domain @student.commnetedu

Example: 12345678@student.commnet.edu

This is the same username and password you use to log into MyCommnet & Blackboard.

 

 

Website - CIA World Fact Book

E Reference Books

Gale Virtual Reference Library ( GVRL) is an online collection of over 3000 searchable ebook versions of encyclopedias and specialized   reference sources of unique titles in the many subject areas such as  Art, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference History , Law Literature, Medicine , Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 

You can search across all titles OR  within subject collections.   Below are the titles of Subject Collections and Individuals titles within the subject 

Once you click on Gale Virtual Reference you will see

Subject Collection - Multicultural Studies;

  • Encyclopedia of Latino Culture : From Calvares to Quinceanears  ( 2014) 

    A three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms -- popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression.

     

Subject Collection  - Nation and World 

  • Encyclopedia of Food and Culture  (2004) 
    A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture  (2008) 
    A six- volume encyclopedia that provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
     
  • Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia (2011):
    A four - volume encyclopedia  that introduces food culture from numerous countries and cultures around the world, including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
     
  • Sweet Treats around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture.  ( 2014)
     

Help & Tutorials

  • Gale Tools - Citations ( Video) 
    This video tutorial from Gale show you how to  use the Citation Tools found in many Gale Resources
     
  • Gale Virtual  Research Library Video - Searching for Information  
    This video tutorial provided by Gale will show you how to use search features to pinpoint relevant entries in Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks.

 

 

 

 

Contact Librarians

undefined  Text 860.200.2821

undefined Email to library@qvcc.edu


FAQ icon  Check out our FAQS

Visit the Library HomePage

Find a Course Research Guide