All Library Guides: Eng 102: Kaufman, Research Project Essay: Edgar Allan Poe

Edgar Allan Poe

Edgar Allan Poe
Photo Credit: Wikipedia

January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849, was an American writer, poet, editor, and literary critic. Poe is best known for his poetry and short stories, particularly his tales of mystery and the macabre.

Literary Analysis & Biography

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- What it is: This database is a great resource for literary analysis or literary criticism assignments often included in English classes. Research authors, works, characters, topics, and themes. Resources include biographical information, sample works, essays on literary themes, full-text poems, full-text literary classics, 800 full-length videos of literary works and author interviews.
- Who It Is Great For: English Studies, General Studies, Liberal Arts
JStor Arts & Sciences Colletions III and X This link opens in a new window
- What it is: A collection of resources that includes science and social science journals, data, and analysis. Search or browse to find art and social science images and primary sources.
- Who It Is Great For: Allied Health (Administrative Medical Office Skills, HIMT: Certified Coding Specialist, Health Career Pathways, Medical Assisting, Medical Laboratory Technician, Phlebotomy), Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, General Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Sciences (Biology Studies, Chemistry Studies, Physics Studies), Sociology Studies

Film

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- What it is: More than 40,000 documentaries in their entirety which can viewed in searchable segments. Each video has captioning and transcripts.
- Who It Is Great For: All Students

Ted Talks is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks ( 18 minutes or less)."

Biographical Information

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
- What it is: Background information on people who have shaped the world. Users can explore articles, videos, photos, etc. on each of the more than 5,000 subjects through easy-to-use individualized pages. The database is regularly updated to provide the most up-to-date information.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- What it is: More than 700,000 full-text biographical articles, 35,000 images and additional summaries from both academic journals and popular magazines. Search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- What it is: More than 400,000 biographical articles. Search by keyword or locate biographies by subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan, birthplace, birthday, and more.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies

Newspaper Databases

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- What it is: ProQuest’s collection of digitized news content, from the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage dating back to the 1700s.
- Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Communication Studies, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies

Search Tips

When you are looking for Literary Criticism on a particular work or author consider doing the following:

1. Enter the author’s first and last name in the first search box (For example, “Edgar Allan Poe").

2 Enter the title of the work ( short story, poem, long fiction ) in the second search box (For example, “The Raven"). Using quotes around the title
of the author's work will help get you more relevant results.

3. Once you hit enter the database will bring up a list of search results. These are all the items in the database that contain information on both
Edgar Allan Poe AND "The Raven " * . [FYI: Don't forget to grab your MLA style citation from the databases for your paper].

4. The items in the search result lists with the word full text or a PDF full-text link can be viewed online, saved, or printed