What it is: Primary and secondary sources in a comprehensive, multi-media collection with topics that range from the arrival of Vikings in North America through to the terrorist attacks of September 11th and more.
Who It Is Great For: History (History Studies), Social Sciences (Economic Studies, Geography Studies, Political Science Studies, Psychology Studies, Sociology Studies), Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies
What it is: Thousands of primary source documents browsable by author, topic, and event. Documents include first-hand accounts of events, government reports, historic speech transcripts, and complete literary works by authors such as Mark Twain and Lewis Carroll.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), English as a Second Language, English Studies, General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sciences (Biology Studies, Chemistry Studies, Physics Studies), Sociology Studies
What it is: Research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents on U.S. and world history topics from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: ProQuest’s collection of digitized news content, from the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Communication Studies, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: Searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics, society, and events as published in the Hartford Courant from 1764 to 1922.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: Searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics, society, and events as published in the Hartford Courant from 1764 to 1922.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: Hosted in the Library of Congress database, this is a collection of digital copies of historical newspapers published in Connecticut between 1777-1963. Can be used to access digitized newspapers from across the country.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Communication Studies, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
History Databases : Journals, Magazines & Essays from Books
What it is: A collection of resources that includes science and social science journals, data, and analysis. Search or browse to find art and social science images and primary sources.
Who It Is Great For: Allied Health (Administrative Medical Office Skills, HIMT: Certified Coding Specialist, Health Career Pathways, Medical Assisting, Medical Laboratory Technician, Phlebotomy), Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, General Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Sciences (Biology Studies, Chemistry Studies, Physics Studies), Sociology Studies
What it is: Background information on people who have shaped the world. Users can explore articles, videos, photos, etc. on each of the more than 5,000 subjects through easy-to-use individualized pages. The database is regularly updated to provide the most up-to-date information.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: More than 700,000 full-text biographical articles, 35,000 images and additional summaries from both academic journals and popular magazines. Search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: More than 400,000 biographical articles. Search by keyword or locate biographies by subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan, birthplace, birthday, and more.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Art (Art Studies, Visual Arts), Communication Studies, Criminal Justice (Criminology Studies), General Studies, History Studies, Human Services (Human Services, Social Work Studies), Humanities, Liberal Arts, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
What it is: ProQuest’s collection of digitized news content, from the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Who It Is Great For: Anthropology, Communication Studies, General Studies, History Studies, Political Science Studies, Sociology Studies
. Text 860.200.2821
Email to library@qvcc.edu 
Voice Message 860.932.4007
Check out our FAQs