History Articles & Databases - HIS Course Guides - Home - All Library Guides at Quinebaug Valley Community College

Contact Librarians

. Text 860.200.2821

Email to library@qvcc.edu

Phone 860.932.4007

U.S. History - Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources in a comprehensive, multi-media collection with topics that range from the arrival of Vikings in North America through to the terrorist attacks of September 11th and more.
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
Thousands of primary source documents in history, literature, science, law, politics, and religion.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents on U.S. and world history topics from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century.
News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest’s collection of digitized news content, from the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Historical Hartford Courant 1764-1922 This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and national news coverage in the Hartford Courant, 1764-1922.

Historical Hartford Courant 1764-1922 This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and national news coverage in the Hartford Courant, 1764-1922.
Newspapers Digitized by the Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
Digital copies of historical newspapers published in Connecticut between 1690-1963.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of resources that includes science and social science journals, data, and analysis. Use the Image tab to find art and social science images.

Biography: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Background information on people who have shaped the world. The database is regularly updated to provide the most up-to-date information.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
More than 700,000 full-text biographical articles, 35,000 images and additional summaries from both academic journals and popular magazines.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
More than 400,000 biographical articles. Search by keyword or locate biographies by subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan, birthplace, birthday, and more.

News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest’s collection of digitized news content, from the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage dating back to the 1700s.