Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QVCC's Online Encyclopedias
Search both general-subject and narrowly-focused online encyclopedias through the QVCC Library. Use instead of Wikipedia for accurate, quick facts and background information.
If you are off-campus you will be promoted to sign in with your 8-digit Banner ID and password.
100,000+ new and revised, comprehensive articles from Britannica, a wide-ranging, general subject encyclopedia. Also includes some primary sources, maps, videos, year-in-review summaries by search topic, and recommended web resources.
790+ e-reference books including general-subject and narrowly-focused subject encyclopedias.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
300+ e-reference books and encyclopedias, including general-subject and narrowly-focused subject encyclopedias.
Background on the Internet
We all use it. Be a savvy user. Let Wikipedia LEAD you to good sources. Check the "History" and "Sources" tabs, visit the external links and evaluate the page for accuracy. Then, follow the links to the original sources and use those sources in your research and for your citations.
Like Wikipedia, but all of the writers are subject-experts and all of the posted articles are peer-reviewed.
A search engine designed for students and researchers, RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers. Results are narrower than Google's, giving greater emphasis to scientific and academic websites.
World Digital Library
Primary sources from around the world, dating between 8000 BCE and 2000.
Encyclopedia of Life
Like Wikipedia, but with a dedicated focus on the earth's life forms.
How Stuff Works
Award-winning source of unbiased, reliable, easy-to-understand answers and explanations of how the world actually works