Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Analysis & Biography
Person Search: Biographical articles often discuss social, cultural and political context of the writer's life and work. Literary criticism and reviews of each writer's collective works are often available.
Works Search: Find specific works, reviews and criticism of those works.
More Biographical Information
Biography in Context
Over 600,000 biographical entries about more than 5,000 contemporary and historical figures. Provides information about both the person and the times in which they lived. Users can browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. From GaleCengage.
Biography Reference Bank
Over 700,000 full-text biographical articles, 35,000 images and additional abstracts from both academic journals and popular magazines. Search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan. From Ebsco.
Biography Reference Center
400,000 biographical articles. Searcy by keyword or locate biographies by subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan, birthplace, birthday, and more.
Source types that include concise and detailed biographies, interviews, obituaries and related articles. From Ebsco.
World History in Context
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. and World History. Use search box drop-down menu to focus results.
Academic Search Premier
A rich, multi-disciplinary collection of articles from over 4,600 scholarly journals presenting research and analysis. Also includes popular magazines and other publications.
Research Databases - organized by subject
Find links to individual QVCC library databases, organized by subject. Within each database, narrow down to "academic" or "peer-reviewed" to limit your results to scholarly articles. If accessing from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Banner ID and password.
Quick Search: Books, eBooks, Articles
QV Research - Quick Search the Library