Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier A rich, multi-disciplinary collection of articles from over 4,600 scholarly journals presenting research and analysis. Also includes popular magazines and other publications.
Issues & Controversies
Pro- and Con- viewpoint articles on many "hot topics." Also includes overview or background articles and news. Sometimes includes primary sources, newspaper editorials and videos. Keyword search or browse popular topics by category or alphabetical listing.
Global Issues in Context Includes global viewpoints and global news; some topics include reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics.
Academic One File
Peer-reviewed journals and magazines. Millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, videos from BBC Worldwide Learning, and magazine articles. From Gale/Cengage.
Recommended National & Local Newspaper Databases
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Search all 7 newspapers listed below as well as many other major daily newspapers by choosing the “ProQuest Newspapers” link, or focus your search by choosing just one newspaper from this list.
Los Angeles Times
New York Times
Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922)
Wall Street Journal
Gale Virtual Reference Library
300+ e-reference books in all subject areas. Use instead of Wikipedia.
790+ e-reference books in all subject areas. Use instead of Wikipedia for quick, accurate facts and background information.
Recommended Discipline - Specific Databases
Articles on environmental topics gathered from both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Articles are from the perspectives of several different disciplines, including agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Gale In Context Environmental Studies
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources: articles on emerging green technologies, energy, land and water use, pollution, sustainability, climate change, and the economic aspects of environmental issues.
Science Reference Center
Full-text articles from science magazines, academic journals, encyclopedias and reference books, essays and biographies of scientists. Includes the Nature Picture Library with images of wild animals and plant species from around the world, several hundred science experiments, and videos.
Qucik Search Tips
Try These SEARCH TIPS!
AND: it finds articles that contain both terms. Example: coral AND fish. All results with have both coral AND fish
OR: it combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, fish OR plant would result in either term being found in the results list.
Asterisk (*) : truncation (*) symbols find all forms of that word. Place the asterisk (*) at the end of a keyword word. Example: educat* will produce results that include the words education, educator, educated, etc.
Quotation marks " " : use " " (quotation marks) to search for a phrase. Example: "solitary cup coral" and "small feathery black coral."
Key Word Searching
Library databases are different from search engines such as Google, Yahoo, Bing etc.
You cannot type in a question into Library databases and receive an answer (s) in a list of search results.
Library databases are keyword driven. Meaning they search for keywords to locate the information you are looking for.
Below is a suggested list of keywords you can use as you search the QVCC Library catalog on various topics about or related to
- Coral reefs
- Coral reef
Coral reef biology
- Coral bleaching
- Coral reef conservation
- Coral reef ecology
- Coral reef fishes
- Coral reefs and islands
- Coral reef management
- Environmental protection AND Coral reef
- Marine Biology
- Marine ecology
- Marine organisms
- Isolate your KEYWORDS.
- "global warming AND coral reefs" is an example of combined keywords. Adding "AND" or "OR" to broaden or narrow your search is called a boolean search.
- "What impact does global warming have on coral reefs" is a question and not a keyword search. Questions are less effective for finding the most relevant sources.
- Consider SYNONYMS of your keywords.
- "Climate change", "greenhouse effect", and "Great Barrier Reef" are examples of synonyms. Remember, you can always combine keywords with a boolean search. "Climate change OR global warming AND coral reefs" broadens the search to include both synonyms.
- Search using DIFFERENT or RELATED terms. You may need to read an article or two to determine related terms.
- "Coral bleaching", "national oceanic and atmospheric administration", or "ocean acidification" are related terms that may target the questions you have about your topic more accurately.